Food

r e c i p e | Easy Vegan Creamy Garlic Pasta

img_7387

My family says ‘yuck’ to creamy pasta sauces but I say ‘GIMME’.

I try to minimize dairy in my diet for many reasons (mainly for the love of cows) so when I came across an Oh She Glows recipe, that called for cashew cream, I was instantly intrigued. (Angela Liddon’s green lentil soup is absolutely divine, BTW!)

“What if I mixed this with spaghetti and garlic?”

So I did. And again. The recipe got more refined with each try and I, finally, fell in love with the consistency and creaminess.

I make it for myself occasionally. I documented it one time in my IG stories and I had a few ask for the recipe. My reaction was pretty much excitement then 😯 because I don’t follow a recipe; I throw this and that in and it just comes out okay. I’m not a food blogger and have never ‘developed’ a recipe before. But I accepted the challenge and rounded up a few of my favourite people to taste test it.

Let me know what you think of my very first recipe. Even if you don’t like it 🙂 Tag me on IG or leave a comment.

CREAMY GARLIC PASTA

Ingredients
1 tbsp oil (I used grapeseed for its high smoke point)
5-8 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tbsp vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 organic vegetable bouillion (I used GoBio)
2 cups of water
1 pkg pasta (I used gluten free brown rice spaghetti)
3/4 C cashew cream** (method below)
Handful of spinach or other leafy greens

Method

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on package.
  2. Heat oil in a large pan. Add garlic and allow to soften and brown lightly.
  3. Add vegan butter, salt and pepper.
  4. Drop in boullion cube and break up with a wooden spoon. Stir until combined well.
  5. Add the water. Bring to a gentle simmer.
  6. Pour cashew cream and gently wilt spinach. Turn off heat.
  7. Toss in spaghetti. Add more water if you want it more saucy.

img_7390img_7362img_7361

img_7363img_7364

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




Cashew Cream

  1. Soak 1C of raw cashews overnight.
  2. The next morning, drain, rinse and add to a high powered blender.
  3. Add in 1C of water and blend until creamy.

Notes

*I use GoBIO Vegetable Bouillon Cubes and 2 cups of water. You can substitute with 2 cups of extra intense chicken stock as well, but the flavour may be altered slightly.
**For convenience, I pour into an ice cube tray and freeze, then toss in a zip top baggie. I will throw in a couple cubes for use it for soups, smoothies and gravies.

img_7385

One thought on “r e c i p e | Easy Vegan Creamy Garlic Pasta

Leave a Reply

